No results found.
No fixtures available

2024 Indian Premier League Betting Odds & Live Stream Cricket Online

Feast your eyes on the biggest prize in T20 cricket with the 2024 Indian Premier League (IPL). One of the most eagerly anticipated events in the cricket calendar, at Stake Sportsbook , we offer coverage of every game in the IPL season.

Whether you’re a die-hard cricket fan or a casual sports bettor, the IPL offers non-stop action and c ricket betting  excitement to keep you on the edge of your seats.

What is the Indian Premier League?

The Indian Premier League is a men’s Twenty20 (T20) cricket league staged every year across India . As a franchise competition, teams can bid in an auction draft format for the world’s best T20 players to play for them.

The IPL, as it’s known for short, is now the most popular cricket league on the planet. Within six years of its launch, it was attracting the sixth-highest attendances across all professional sports leagues worldwide. It’s a truly explosive, high-octane competition, bringing together the world’s best bowlers and big-hitting batsmen between March and May each year.

History of the Indian Premier League

The Indian Premier League was founded in 2008. Inspired by India’s T20 World Cup victory in 2007, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) opted to launch a franchise-based T20 league in India to rival the Indian Cricket League (ICL), established 12 months earlier.

In January 2008, an auction of the eight IPL team franchises was hosted. The reserve price of all the franchises combined was $400 million, but the auction raised upwards of $723 million.

Its popularity has soared ever since. In the 2023 IPL final, it attracted 32 million viewers of its live streams. Furthermore, the media rights of the IPL for 2023-2027 were sold to Viacom18 and Star Sports for a staggering $6.4 billion.

Indian Premier League Schedule & Format

With ten franchise teams now involved in the IPL, there are two groups of five – Group A and Group B.

Each team plays twice against the four other teams in its group and once against the five teams in the other group. There is one extra game when a side must play its opposite number in the other group a second time (i.e., the team listed #1 in Group A will play the team listed #1 in Group B twice).

The top four teams face off in the playoffs, with the top two teams locking horns in Qualifier 1, with the winner automatically reaching the IPL final. The third and fourth-placed teams play in the Eliminator, with the winner then facing the losing team of Qualifier 1 in Qualifier 2, giving the loser of Qualifier 1 two bites at the cherry to reach the final.

When is the Indian Premier League 2024?

The 2024 IPL season commenced on March 22, when the Chennai Super Kings faced the Royal Challengers Bangalore, with the competition set to run through to May’s playoff campaign.

Which Teams Play in the Indian Premier League?

  • Chennai Super Kings: Five-time IPL champions

  • Delhi Capitals: Lost the 2020 IPL final to Mumbai Indians

  • Gujarat Titans: 2022 IPL champions in the debut season

  • Kolkata Knight Riders: Two-time IPL champions (2012 and 2014)

  • Lucknow Super Giants: Two third-place finishes in 2022 and 2023

  • Mumbai Indians: Five-time IPL champions

  • Punjab Kings: Best finish was a runners-up place in the 2014 IPL

  • Rajasthan Royals: Winners of the inaugural 2008 IPL

  • Royal Challengers Bangalore: Three-time IPL runners-up in 2009, 2011 and 2016

  • Sunrisers Hyderabad: 2016 IPL winners

Who will win the IPL 2024? Check out our expert IPL predictions for the cricket season or the picks on this season from the expert Ravi Shastri himself to help make your betting decisions.

We also have an exclusive interview with Ravi Shastri , discussing his thoughts on the IPL players and teams the 2024 season!

How to Bet on the Indian Premier League & Cricket Bet Types

  • Moneyline:  Simply bet on which team you think will win an upcoming season game in the IPL based on current form and weather conditions.

  • Team With Top Batter/Bowler: Pick the team with the top-performing batter or bowler at the end of an upcoming IPL game.

  • Total Fours ( Over/Under ): Bet on the likelihood of an IPL match finishing with more (over) or less (under) boundaries scored than the benchmark total set by our traders.

  • Total Sixes (Over/Under): Bet on the likelihood of an IPL match finishing with more (over) or less (under) sixes scored than the benchmark total set by our traders.

  • Most Fours/Sixes: Bet on the team to score the most boundaries or sixes in an upcoming IPL game.

  • Team With Highest Score at 1st Dismissal: Bet on the team with the highest first-wicket partnership, i.e., pick the most in-form opening batters.

Live Stream Indian Premier League 2024 & Live Betting Markets

If you want to catch the live action of the IPL and bet on an IPL cricket match in play, we’ve got seasoned bettors covered at Stake Sportsbook. Just make sure you’re logged into your account, and you can live stream the IPL group stage and playoff games on any device.

Indian Premier League Betting Odds & Payouts

There are three types of odds formats you can use to help make informed betting decisions on an upcoming match in the IPL:

  • Decimal Odds: This represents the total possible return on an IPL bet, inclusive of your initial stake. It’s displayed as a decimal number, e.g. 3.54.

  • Fractional Odds: This explains the potential profit available relative to your initial stake. For example, IPL odds of 4/1 would mean a 4-unit return on a 1-unit stake.

  • American Odds: This shows the amount you can win from a 100-unit wager on favourable (+) odds on the underdog or the amount needed to wager to win 100 units on negative (-) odds on the favourite.

Indian Premier League Betting Tips, Predictions & Strategies

  • MS Dhoni is set to continue to lead the Chennai Super Kings, which will keep them a force as they bid for a record sixth IPL title to become the most successful team in the IPL.

  • The playoff shake-up tends to involve one of the Super Kings and the Rohit Sharma-inspired Mumbai Indians, as they are the strongest teams historically.

  • The Sunrisers Hyderabad are once again expected to be the weakest franchise in the 2024 IPL, despite Pat Cummins once again skippering the team and emerging batter Rahul Tripathi in their ranks.

  • If you’re new to betting, stick to simple cricket markets like the match winner.

For more cricket betting strategies, check out our guide on how to bet on cricket , or read our online sports betting guide for general information.

Bet Bonuses & Responsible Gambling Online

If you’re a first-time sports bettor at Stake Sportsbook, remember you can take advantage of our welcome promotions to bolster your IPL betting bankroll. You’ll also be automatically enrolled into our VIP Club , so if you bet on the IPL with us regularly, you’ll accrue loyalty points to work your way up the VIP levels for additional perks.

It’s also important to us that your IPL betting is responsible and sustainable. We go to great lengths to help you Stake Smart and understand the risks involved with your cricket betting.